Android L is the future of computing and why you should probably start paying attention to Android


So, you’re an iOS user, let me guess, how is that kool aid treatin’ ya these days?  Thought so.  Like many people (including my wife), the allure of Apple is finally starting to wear off;  Why you ask?  Well, let’s just say Tim Cook isn’t Steve Jobs and move on from there.  Oh, not buying that one?  Okay, Apple has been playing catch up with Android since Froyo.  Don’t believe me?  Well, go google it.

That aside, Google just announced “Android L” OS coming soon for Android phones and tablets.  However, it is what is NOT being talked about that people really need to be paying attention to here;  I will briefly outline a few key points that I believe is driving Google’s internal development team to push Android to new levels.

 

1 – One account, one platform.  

With everything tied to an @gmail account, Google has successfully gotten to a point where their eco-system now thrives due to the cohesive nature of which it was built upon;  You.  You are what drives the phones, tablets, chromebooks, services and Google gets that.  So much so that with Android L, we are going to see (finally) the convergence of Chrome OS and Android OS into a full meshed eco-system.  Some would call it a brave new world, however I would call it a dawn of a new era of computing.  Being able to use an Android phone, tablet or laptop would essentially give you the roundedness of your connected digital lifestyle.  All your entertainment, music, pictures in an easy to manipulate way.  Enter the forth coming Android Wear and you get a way to manage all of that incoming information in a way that is fun and memorable as we have moved away from wearing watches aside for fashion.

2 – Google is taking control of Android back from the hardware vendors.

This is a huge step in Google showing some much needed grit to reign in some control over Android and the updates.  With the farming out of serviices, apps, etc. the eco-system has become less fragmented but the issue persists.  With Android L, this won’t be a factor;  In fact, I would venture a guess that every manufacture will be rushing to push new hardware out that runs Android L instead of trying to port Android L to older phones.  All of that to say, the skins OEM’s have been using are soon going to be Play Store apps and a user choice instead of a being chosen for.  

3 – Google is betting the farm on owning your desktop/laptop systems within 2-3 years with Android apps on Chrome OS.

My final point for this blog is the convergence I mentioned earlier.  With Microsoft failing to generate any good traction with Windows 8 (any version) and Windows 9 too far away to even preview or try, Chrome OS will be replacing many users’ desktops and laptops in the coming years.  Factor into the growing rate of Android phones/tablets and Android Wear; you should be getting the picture that this is going to be changing the landscape of the computing industry for a long time to come.  I mentioned on a previous blog that I got my Nexus 7 tablet because I didn’t need Windows.  Well, guess what folks, my need for Windows has gotten even less (from a consumer standpoint).  

Those are just a few key points about Android L and how they will be shaping the internet and computing landscape in the coming months and years.  Think I’m right– wrong… let me know in the comments.

 

=A

2 thoughts on “Android L is the future of computing and why you should probably start paying attention to Android

  1. There is simply no way that I could drop my PC for my Nexus 7. I love my Nexus, but I can’t type on it the way I can with a proper keyboard; even if I bought a keyboard, there isn’t enough RAM in there for me to pop open dozens and dozens of tabs at a time on my browser for research, while at the same time having two or three PDF’s running, a Word file or two, while keeping Skype open so that my wife can call me while she’s abroad. Add to that the battery drain, and it’s just not feasible right now.

    Your argument about Google owning MS Windows (because the next Windows is too far off) seems to have more merit, but how would that happen? Wouldn’t they need to move quickly? Is there enough of a market out there of interested buyers who can uproot quickly and move over to a new OS? Perhaps I am missing something.

    Like

Leave a Reply

